Any time a person is accused of committing a sex offense there could be devastating consequences. These accusations could result from a misunderstanding or they could be false. No matter the situation, a sex crime conviction carries some of the state's harshest penalties. This could mean lengthy prison sentences, expensive fines, and other sanctions, such as being required to register as a sex offender.
Being labeled a sex offender could significantly limit a person's abilities in life. He or she may be restricted on housing options, obtaining employment could become difficult, and maintaining social relationships could be overwhelming. Avoiding a conviction is pertinent to keeping your life on a positive track. A Las Vegas sex crime defense lawyer can assist you in fighting the charges.
If you have been charged with a sexually-based offense in Nevada, contact Las Vegas sex crimes attorney Jeffrey Jaeger. Challenging the evidence in these cases is critical, and Jeffrey is skilled in doing so. As the co-author of Handbook of Nevada Evidence, a guide used by Nevada lawyers and judges, Jeffrey can use his extensive knowledge of evidence in criminal cases to help you fight the charges.
Call The Law Offices of Jeffrey Jaeger at (702) 816-3888 to schedule a free initial consultation and learn more about your options. Jeffrey understands the complex criminal process, and he can represent you from the time of the arrest until the case is resolved. He represents clients throughout Las Vegas and the surrounding areas in Clark County.
Several offenses could be considered sexual in nature according to Nevada law. These offenses can range from misdemeanors to some of the most serious felonies. Some sex crimes outlined in Nevada Revised Statutes 179D.097 include:
A person who subjects another person to sexual penetration or forces them to penetrate another against the will of the victim could be charged with sexual assault, according to Nevada Revised Statute 200.366. The charge could also apply if the alleged offender knows the victim is mentally or physically incapable of resisting.
Sexual assault, more commonly known as rape, is a Category A felony. If the victim suffers substantial bodily harm from the actions of the offender or the assault, the offense is punishable by life in prison without the possibility of parole or life with the possibility of parole after 15 years has been served.
If no substantial bodily harm had been suffered, the offender could face life in prison with the possibility of parole after a minimum of 10 years has been served. However, if a child under age 14 is the victim, the offender could face life with the possibility of parole after a minimum of 35 years has been served.
A person who has already been convicted of sexual assault or any other sexual offense against a child could face a Category A felony if he or she is accused of sexually assaulting a child younger than 16 years old. This could mean life in prison without the possibility of parole.
Even spouses could be charged with sexual assault in some scenarios. According to state law, it is no defense to a charge or sexual assault that the alleged victim and offender were married at the time of the offense if the act was committed by force or threat of force.
Nevada law outlines several sex offenses in which minors are the victims of the crime. In these cases, there does not have to be physical contact between the alleged offender and the victim. Exploitation of children through images or solicitation of sexual acts are both considered illegal.
Some child-specific sex crime charges in Nevada could include:
Statutory Sexual Seduction —According to Nevada Revised Statute 200.364, statutory sexual seduction means any ordinary sexual intercourse, anal intercourse, cunnilingus or fellatio committed by a person 18 years old or older on a person younger than 16 years old. If the alleged offender is 21 years old or older, it is a Category C felony. If the alleged offender is between 18 and 21 years old, is a gross misdemeanor.
Online Solicitation of a Minor —A person who lures a child or communicates with a child younger than 16 years old and at least five years younger than the person intending to make contact could be charged with online solicitation of a minor if the contact is made through a computer or network with the intent to engage in sexual conduct. According to Nevada Revised Statute 201.560, this would be punishable by a Category B felony.
Lewdness with a Child —A person who commits a lewd or lascivious act other than sexual assault on a child younger than 14 years old could be charged with lewdness with a child, according to Nevada Revised Statute 201.230. This would be a Category A felony, punishable by life in prison.
Child Pornography —Possessing, advertising, distributing, creating, and depicting images in which a minor is the subject of a sexual portrayal or he or she participates in sexual acts is illegal under Chapter 200.7 of Nevada Revised Statutes. The severity of the charges associated with child pornography varies per offense.
Penalties for sex crimes in Nevada vary based on a plethora of factors, including the age of the victim, if he or she suffered substantial bodily harm and the offender's previous criminal history. Some criminal offenses have specific punishments in the corresponding statute. However, some possible penalties for sex offenses could include:
Additionally, sex offenses could carry other repercussions, such as being required to register as a sex offender. This could impact a person's life long after other court-issued punishments have been completed. Avoiding a conviction is critical in sex crime cases.
After a person is convicted of a sex offense, he or she may be required to register as a sex offender. This registration must be done through local law enforcement in the jurisdiction in which the person was convicted, according to Nevada Revised Statute 179D.455.
When registering, the person would have to provide information about themselves such as where they live, where they work, and other things that allow law enforcement to track them. All of this information then becomes public and would be included on the state's sex offender registration website.
Some of the information that must be provided to law enforcement, according to Nevada Revised Statute 179D.151, could include:
Failing to register, failing to provide certain information, providing false information, or not keeping the information up to date could result in being classified as non-compliant. According to Nevada Revised Statute 179D.550, this could mean Category D felony charges.
Nevada Department of Public Safety: The Parole and Probation Division outlines some of the requirements associated with sex offender registration in Nevada, including initial registration, change of address, and annual verification. Failing to meet these requirements is a felony offense.
Nevada Sex Offender Registry: The Nevada Sex Offender Registry includes a comprehensive list of Tier 2 and Tier 3 sex offenders within the state, along with registration information, current statistics, changes in the law, frequently asked questions, definitions and explanations and more.
Trafficked No More: Trafficked No More is an initiative of The Las Vegas Mayor’s Faith Initiative Human Trafficking Workgroup. The campaign seeks to reduce the number of people involved in sex trafficking through education and awareness.
Being accused of a sex offense is a serious situation. You need knowledgeable and dedicated legal counsel who can help you fight the charges. Contact Las Vegas sex crimes attorney Jeffrey Jaeger at (702) 816-3888 to learn more about your options. The Law Offices of Jeffrey Jaeger can represent clients throughout Las Vegas and the surrounding areas.
Stay up-to-date on the latest legal news in the Silver State. Las Vegas attorney Jeffrey Jaeger discusses important developments in Nevada Appellate Courts.