A charge for a first DUI offense in Nevada is generally a misdemeanor, but it still should be taken seriously. This offense can carry months in jail, hundreds of dollars in fines , and various other penalties. Additionally, a driver could face losing his or her ability to legally get behind the wheel.
Although the penalties can be harsh, you still have rights. A knowledgeable DUI attorney can examine the facts of your case and help you decide on the best possible defenses. You should begin protecting yourself from a DUI conviction immediately.
If you have been charged with a DUI offense, it is important to know you do not have to accept a conviction. Jeffrey Jaeger can help you defend yourself against DUI allegations and challenge the evidence in your case.
Jeffrey has years of experienced advocating for the rights of clients. He previously served as Director of Litigation Support for the Clark County Public Defender’s Office where he assisted defense attorneys with building an effective presentation of their evidence that clearly showed jurors and judges the case for their clients.
Even a first offense for drunk driving could have years of repercussions. Call (702) 816-3888 to schedule a free initial consultation with Jeffrey Jaeger. He helps clients facing DUI charges throughout Clark County, including those in Las Vegas, Henderson, and North Las Vegas.
A first DUI offense within a seven-year period is a misdemeanor offense in Nevada. This means if a person is charged with a DUI for the first time in his or her life, it could be a misdemeanor. If a driver had previous convictions, but they were more than seven years before the recent arrest date, it also could be counted as a first DUI.
A conviction for a first DUI still could mean harsh penalties. According to Nevada Revised Statute 484C.400, a person could face a minimum of two days in jail and a maximum of six months in jail. In some instances, the court could have the person perform between 48 and 96 hours of community service instead of jail time.
Other penalties associated with a first DUI offense in Nevada include:
If a driver allegedly had a blood alcohol concentration or 0.18 or more in his or her breath or blood at the time of the offense, he or she could be required to attend a treatment program for drug and alcohol abuse. He or she also could be assessed a $100 charge.
Additionally, drivers with a BAC of 0.18 or greater could be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles. This device, which detects alcohol concentration in a person's breath, determines if the vehicle will start. The court could order this be used for 12 to 36 months.
After a DUI conviction, drivers also could face increased insurance rates, difficulty finding employment that has an emphasis on driving, and various other consequences. The best way to avoid a lifetime of indirect repercussions is to avoid a conviction.
An arrest for a DUI could lead to having your driver's license revoked for 90 days. This administrative suspension would be done separately of the criminal charges. However, drivers have the right to challenge the suspension.
Drivers have the right to appeal this suspension by requesting a hearing within seven days of his or her arrest. If drivers do not have previous revocations or suspensions, they could be granted a temporary driver's license from the DMV.
A decision typically is made regarding the person's driver's license within 30 days of the hearing. If he or she had been granted a temporary license, it can remain valid during the time awaiting the decision. Once a decision is made, it is sent to the driver and the DMV.
If a person's license remains revoked, he or she will be notified of the exact dates. If it is a first DUI offense, the driver may be able apply for a restricted driver’s license after one-half of the revocation period has passed. The outcome would not affect the criminal side of the case.
If you have been charged with a DUI offense for the first time, it is important to know you have options. A charge does not have to mean a conviction. Contact Las Vegas DUI defense attorney Jeffrey Jaeger to learn more about how to protect your future and your rights. Call (702) 816-3888 to schedule a free consultation with The Law Offices of Jeffrey Jaeger.
Stay up-to-date on the latest legal news in the Silver State. Las Vegas attorney Jeffrey Jaeger discusses important developments in Nevada Appellate Courts.